Have found I need an “overview” approach during the planning, writing and editing stages of novels and large works of fiction or non-fiction.

In the past I have used everything from index cards, huge whiteboards, electronic whiteboards, mind-mapping tools and, of course, sundry or extensive scraps of paper.

Am happy to announce my desk, my office and my brain are all clean and tidy now. (Well, almost on the office – lol.)

The wonderful combination of mind and gadget that has achieved this clever result is thanks to the brains at Scrivener along with the magic of the Macintosh:

Scrivener example

In brief, the global nuts and bolts of the project are accessed from the left – the Chapters, Sections (if required) and Research.

The Corkboard view is shown and that central pane can become an Outline view or a Document view. The rapid ability to switch is magic.

Depending on what is chosen in the central pane, you can define, describe, annotate and link untold items with the tools in the right-hand column.

In the example shown, you see Section 2 is active which gives:

  • 02 Interiors Homme as the wrapper / folder
  • 6 chapters in the corkboard view
  • Synopsis (blank because I capture the detail with each chapter)
  • General (assign labels, status, etc)
  • Document Notes (in this case I could click the Timeline or Map image to launch a full-size view)

In brief, Scrivener is a fantastic word processor wrapped with complete document and project management tools.

You can see much more here: http://www.literatureandlatte.com/scrivener.html

PS: I lied about my brain being clean and tidy.

