The results are in. After a year-long experiment in Europe, logging the temperatures wherever I’ve been, I need, require, demand a certain base temperature. It seems totally logical to me that I need 21 degrees C in the 21st Century.

Which means, probably, almost definitely, positively Brazil. Just look at the map. The west coast of South America has a chilly coastline, as does the eastern coast of Australia and all of New Zealand. I certainly don’t want to be in a desert in Africa, while Indonesia suffers from enormous monsoon rains and earthquakes and volcanoes.

annual mean temperature world map

Plus, and it’s a big plus, polical unrest in many of the countries in the tropics does not appeal, so that excludes Mexico, Africa, India, Pakistan, Indonesia, etc.

The magic combination of near the sea and an annual temperature that hovers between 20 and 30 degrees C  means Brazil is the ideal place. Plenty of mountains and forest to go exploring, and a huge dance/trance scene to keep my ears hopping (and even my feet).

Just a couple of slight problems, inevitably. Like learning the language, pronto! And defining, styling and purchasing an entire new wardrobe! Life’s little challenges …

